Mandatory Credit: Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

Eden Hazard, Petr Cech, And Gary Cahill Represent Chelsea FC In PFA Team Of The Year

Chelsea FC midfielder Eden Hazard, centerback Gary Cahill, and goalkeeper Petr Cech represent the Blues in the 2014 PFA Team of the Year tying Liverpool with the most from one team. Hazard also won the PFA Young Player of the Year award ahead of Daniel Sturridge and finished second in the Player of the Year award to another Liverpool player in Luis Suarez. The rest of the PFA Team of the Year is as follows:

Goalkeeper: Petr Cech
Defenders: Luke Shaw, Gary Cahill, Vincent Kompany, Seamus Coleman
Midfielders: Eden Hazard, Yaya Toure, Steven Gerrard, Adamn Lallana
Forwards: Luis Suarez and Daniel Sturridge

Petr Cech was a bit of a no-brainer as he currently leads the Premier League in clean sheets and has been in imperious form for the Blues all season. Julian Speroni of Crystal Palace and David Marshall of Cardiff City were considered in the running and some felt they were snubbed but the award could have gone to any of the three without much protest.

Gary Cahill’s inclusion shows the tremendous progress he has made this season as he and John Terry partnered to form the best defense in the Premier League. Cahill has stepped up in a major way for the Blues and has silenced many of his critics by being the perfect foil to Terry. The real test for the England defender will be if Terry is forced to miss the second leg against Atletico Madrid but he has excelled on the big stage before. Some felt that John Terry has had a better season than Kompany but if Terry was selected it just would not be fair to everyone else.

As for Eden Hazard, what needs to be said about this brilliant young player that has not already been said? He has been fantastic nearly every time he has been on the pitch for the Blues and his star will only shine brighter as he matures under Jose Mourinho. Chelsea is once again well represented and for good reason as they have been title challengers all season long.

Follow us on Twitter at @PrideOLondon

Like us on Facebook at The Pride of London

Tags: Adamn Lallana Eden Hazard Gary Cahill Luis Suarez Luke Shaw Petr Cech PFA PFA Player Of The Year PFA Team Of The Year PFA Young Player Of The Year Seamus Coleman Steven Gerrard Vincent Kompany Yaya Toure

comments powered by Disqus