Courtesy of Flickr user Phil Cole

Roy Hodgson Reveals England World Cup Squad

Mandatory Credit: Anthony Gruppuso-USA TODAY Sports

Mandatory Credit: Anthony Gruppuso-USA TODAY Sports

Manager Roy Hodgson has released the England World Cup squad and notable absentees include Ashley Cole and Micheal Carrick of Chelsea and Manchester United. This is a largely youthful squad with youngsters like Raheem Sterling, Ross Barkley, and Luke Shaw likely to feature. There is a mixture of experience however with Hodgson selecting players such as Frank Lampard, Steven Gerrard, and Gary Cahill for the England World Cup squad.

Some players made the World Cup squad after having impressive domestic seasons and also impressing in their England call ups. The Southampton trio of Rickie Lambert, Adam Lallana, and Luke Shaw may not be in the same age range but are all rookies in the Three Lions shirt. Jordan Henderson and and Ross Barkley also had fantastic seasons for their respective clubs and have earned the right to make the trip to Brazil.

Chelsea FC defender Ashley Cole is the most notable omission from the squad after ending his season with a string of fine performances. Cole was left off the roster in favor of Luke Shaw who to be fair has had a fantastic season for Southampton. Many people believed that Cole’s experience would be the difference in the pressure cooker that is the World Cup but clearly Roy Hodgson had other ideas.

England’s World Cup Squad:

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Fraser Forster (Celtic).

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Chris Smalling (Manchester United).

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Everton), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Attackers: Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Daniel Welbeck (Manchester United).

Standby: John Ruddy (Norwich City), Jon Flanagan (Liverpool), John Stones (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Andy Carroll (West Ham United), Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC).


Follow us on Twitter at @PrideOLondon

Like us on Facebook at The Pride of London

Tags: Ashley Cole Chelsea FC England World Cup Squad Frank Lampard Roy Hodgson

comments powered by Disqus