Chelsea FC’s Eden Hazard And Jose Mourinho Shortlisted For Top Awards


FIFA’s 23-man shortlist for the 2015 Ballon d’Or was released today, a list that includes five Premier League players. However, only of these come from Premier League champions Chelsea. The 10-man shortlist for Coach of the Year was also released today and includes two Premier League managers, including Jose Mourinho.

Only Chelsea’s Eden Hazard makes the World Player of the Year shortlist. Despite helping the Blues to comfortably claim the title last season, big names John Terry, Diego Costa and Cesc Fabregas have all missed out.

Terry was a vital part of Chelsea’s backline throughout the season, playing more minutes (3420) than anyone else in the league, even at the age of 34. Cesc Fabregas boasted the highest number of assists last season with 18 to his name, leaving everyone else in tail. Arsenal’s Santi Cazorla came closest to the Chelsea star with 11. Thus it is slightly surprising that they have been left off.

However, the PFA and FWA’s Footballer of the Year, Hazard, is joined on the list by four other Premier League players. Last season’s top scorer Sergio Aguero, and his Manchester City teammates Yaya Toure and Kevin De Bruyne, as well as Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez all make the shortlist.

More from World Football

Spain’s La Liga leads the way with 11 nominees, as Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo are made unsurprising favourites to win the award. They have won the last seven Ballon d’Ors between them.

There are also six players from the German Bundesliga, two from Italy’s Serie A, and one player (Zlatan Ibrahimovic) from France’s Ligue 1 that have been nominated.

The list is made up of mainly midfielders and attackers, with just one goalkeeper (Manuel Neuer), and one centre-back (Barcelona’s Javier Mascherano) being shortlisted. Gareth Bale is the only British player on the list.

View image |

Jose Mourinho has been named on the 10-man Coach of the Year shortlist after guiding Chelsea to their fourth Premier League title, as well as masterminding a Capital One Cup final win at Wembley last season. He is joined on the list, perhaps more surprisingly, by fellow Premier League manager Arsene Wenger who won the FA Cup with the Gunners last season.

Barcelona boss Luis Enrique is favourite to win, after managing his side to the treble last season, and other La Liga managers Diego Simeone, Carlo Ancelotti and Unai Emery are also nominated.

Below is a full shortlist for both awards.

More from The Pride of London

Ballon d’Or:

Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Manchester City)
Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid)
Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid)
Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/VfL Wolfsburg/Manchester City)
Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain)
Andres Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona)
Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich)
Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona)
Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona)
Thomas Muller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)
Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)
Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona)
Paul Pogba (France/Juventus)
Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/FC Barcelona)
Arjen Robben (Netherlands/FC Bayern Munich)
James Rodriguez (Colombia/Real Madrid)
Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal)
Luis Suarez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona)
Yaya Toure (Côte d’Ivoire/Manchester City)
Arturo Vidal (Chile/Juventus/FC Bayern Munich)

FIFA World Coach of the Year:

Massimiliano Allegri (Italy/Juventus)
Carlo Ancelotti (Italy/Real Madrid)
Laurent Blanc (France/Paris Saint-Germain)
Unai Emery (Spain/Sevilla FC)
Pep Guardiola (Spain/FC Bayern Munich)
Luis Enrique (Spain/FC Barcelona)
Jose Mourinho (Portugal/Chelsea)
Jorge Sampaoli (Argentina/Chilean national team)
Diego Simeone (Argentina/Atletico Madrid)
Arsene Wenger (France/Arsenal)

Next: Reports: Chelsea FC Winger To Join Atletico Madrid

More from The Pride of London