Chelsea’s 2022/23 team of the season: 3-4-2-1 featuring Enzo

Chelsea (Photo by Marc Atkins/Getty Images)
Chelsea (Photo by Marc Atkins/Getty Images) /
1 of 7

The 2022/23 season has concluded, at least for Chelsea. Some leagues are still yet to play their final game of the season, and four different teams still have a cup final to play after the last set of league games have been played.

The Blues were knocked out of the FA Cup and Carabao Cup in the third round, which was their entry point. They got to the quarterfinal of the UEFA Champions League but also didn’t put up a good fight in that tie. CFC have recorded their worst league season in decades, and that’s not an exaggeration. With the pathetic season finally coming to an end, the Pride of London is here with a Team of The Season. This team will have played that have played at least a third of the available minutes in all competitions.

This means that in the Champions League, the total amount of minutes available to play for a Chelsea player is 900 minutes because the club only played 10 games in the competition this season. It also means there’s a maximum of 180 minutes in the FA Cup and EFL Cup combined. This adds up to 4,500 minutes in all competitions. As such, the minutes’ requirement is 1,500 minutes. Here’s who we have selected as the 2022-23 Team of the Season.

Kepa Arrizabalaga, Chelsea No. 1, Goalkeeper, Spain

Arrizabalaga was outstanding this season. He is the reason Chels’ did not once kiss the relegation zone. Considering how poor Todd Boehly’s Blues were in front of goal, they needed someone to massively over-perform at the other end of the pitch to make sure they did not wallow in 17th place. Arrizabalaga stepped up. The Spaniard ended the season with 12 clean sheets in 40 games in all competitions, averaging 3.1 saves per game at a 76% save rate in the league and Champions League combined. He was so much better than Edouard Mendy this season, ranking third for goals prevented in the league this season. There was only one real candidate for this one and it was always going to be Arrizabalaga.